Walter Taylor Ward

Councillor Julian Simmonds

The Walter Taylor Ward includes the suburbs of Fig Tree Pocket, Indooroopilly, St Lucia, Chapel Hill (in part), Kenmore (in part), Kenmore Hills (in part), Taringa (in part) and Toowong (in part).

Councillor Julian Simmonds

Julian Simmonds was elected to represent the residents of the Walter Taylor Ward in Council at a by-election in October 2010.

Julian has a long association with the Walter Taylor Ward and is committed to ensuring the area remains a wonderful place to live and raise a family. His priorities include reducing traffic congestion in local streets and improving public transport. He is also working with the community to ensure they have a say in local neighbourhood planning.

Prior to being elected to Council, Julian worked in Brisbane City Council as a policy advisor for Public and Active Transport and Economic Development. He holds a Bachelor of Arts and a Masters Degree in Journalism from the University of Queensland.

Julian is involved in a number of local community and sporting groups. He is active in the community, undertaking regular Meals on Wheels runs and participating in local creek revegetation. 

In 2011, Julian was appointed to Civic Cabinet as Chairman for Public and Active Transport. Following the 2012 Council election, Julian was appointed Chairman of the Finance, Economic Development and Administration Committee as part of Lord Mayor Graham Quirk's Cabinet team. His responsibilities include overseeing the financial management of Australia's largest council and upholding the Administrations commitment to supporting Brisbane businesses.

Contact Ward Office

Walter Taylor Ward Office
70 Station Rd
Indooroopilly Qld 4068

Office hours: 8.30am - 5pm, Monday - Friday 

Phone: 07 3407 0005
Fax: 07 3407 0008


06 January 2015