City Planning Committee

Committee membership

Summary table of the City Planning Committee Chairman, Deputy Chairman and Members.
Chair Councillor Matthew Bourke
Deputy Chair Councillor Steven Toomey
Shadow Chair Councillor Kara Cook

Councillor James Mackay

Councillor Angela Owen

Councillor Jonathan Sri

The responsibilities of the City Planning Committee are to:

  • plan for the sustainable development of Brisbane to ensure economic prosperity, a healthy ecology and quality of life, and:
    • plan for the development of Brisbane
    • collaborate with other councils and state authorities in regional planning and implement the South East Queensland Regional Plan
    • revitalise under-utilised areas of Brisbane
    • plan sustainable neighbourhoods where Brisbane residents want to live and work
    • ensure Brisbane retains the unique character of its architecture and natural attributes
    • promote an affordable range of housing choices
    • build Brisbane's capacity for long-term economic growth through economic research, forecasting and analysis
    • partner with the business and development industry to ensure the sustainable development of Brisbane
    • streamline development assessment
    • decide delegated applications during recess
    • recommend major applications to Council for consideration.

A 'major project' is a project for which a development application has been lodged with Council which meets any or all of the following criteria:

  • the project will be of considerable impact to the city from and environment, economic or planning perspective
  • the project will have significant impact on Council infrastructure and resources
  • the project will require the planning scheme to be varied or overridden to give effect to the project
  • the Manager Development Assessment decides that a particular project should be treated as a major project.
Last updated:16 October 2019