Calamvale Ward

The Calamvale Ward comprises the suburbs of Algester, Calamvale, Drewvale, Heathwood, Parkinson, Stretton, Larapinta and part of Forest Lake.

Councillor Angela Owen (formerly known as Cr Angela Owen-Taylor)

Councillor Angela Owen was elected in March 2016 as the inaugural Councillor for Calamvale Ward (after a change in ward boundaries from Parkinson Ward to Calamvale Ward).

Councillor Owen was previously elected as the first Councillor for the Ward of Parkinson in 2008 and re-elected in 2012.

A long term community advocate, she has lived in the local community she represents since 1983.

Professionally, Councillor Owen is a Certified Practicing Accountant and, prior to being elected, worked at all levels of government, as well as in the corporate sector.

Her roles have encompassed senior management and financial controller positions, ministerial and political advisory, as well as university lecturing in Masters of Business and Masters of Professional Accounting.

Councillor Owen actively supports many multicultural groups across the city of Brisbane and enthusiastically promotes economic prospects through Brisbane's Sister City agreements and international opportunities.

Current Council appointments (2016- )

  • Chairman of Council
  • Councillor for Calamvale Ward

Current Council Committees (2018- )

  • Environment, Parks and Sustainability Committee

Contact Ward Office

Ward office location and contact details.
Calamvale Ward Office
Shop 10, 168 Algester Road
Calamvale Qld 4116

Office hours: 9am-4.45pm, Monday-Friday
(excluding public holidays)

Phone: 07 3131 7022
Fax: 07 3131 7033
Write to:
Councillor Angela Owen
PO Box 5236
Algester Qld 4115


Last updated:7 May 2019