Environment, Parks and Sustainability Committee

Committee membership

Chairman: Councillor David McLachlan
Deputy Chairman: Councillor Norm Wyndham
Members: Councillor Steven Huang
  Councillor Andrew Wines
  Councillor Steve Griffiths
  Councillor Nicole Johnston

The responsibilities of the Environment, Parks and Sustainability Committee will be to:

  • protect and enhance Brisbane's environment including the Brisbane River, waterways, biodiversity, air quality and natural areas and:
    • ensure Brisbane is a leading city in energy efficiency and integrated water management
    • foster Brisbane's development as a green and shady city with a focus on its parks and gardens and natural areas
    • partner with the community and business to enhance the environment
    • support volunteer organisations in their contribution to the protection and enhancement of Brisbane's environment
    • ensure environmental risks are minimised.
03 May 2016