Brisbane's 2014 G20 Leaders' Summit

In November 2014, Brisbane hosted the Group of Twenty (G20) Leaders' Summit, the principal forum for international economic cooperation and decision-making. Over the days of the event, Brisbane was in the global spotlight, with leaders from the world's most influential economies gathering in our city. As an annual event, the G20 gives world leaders the chance to share ideas and outline visions regarding key international issues.

G20 was held at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre (BCEC) South Bank on 15 and 16 November 2014. During this time international leaders, delegates and media were able to experience Brisbane's highlights.

G20 is the most significant international event held in Brisbane since the 1982 Commonwealth Games and Expo '88. It showcased Brisbane as a world class destination for business, tourism, education and events. 

Preparations for the G20 Leaders' Summit spanned more than two years, with Brisbane City Council playing a role in delivering the event in partnership with the Australian and Queensland Governments.

The Prime Minister of Australia was the Chair of the G20 in 2014.

G20 attendees

The G20's permanent membership comprises of 19 of the world's most powerful countries plus the European Union. Guest countries included Singapore, New Zealand, Mauritania, Senegal and Myanmar. International organisations were also invited to attend.

The event attracted more than 4000 delegates and 3000 media representatives from around the world.

G20 member countries

  1. Argentina
  2. Australia
  3. Brazil
  4. Canada
  5. China
  6. France
  7. Germany
  8. India
  9. Indonesia
  10. Italy
  11. Japan
  12. Republic of Korea
  13. Mexico
  14. Russia
  15. Saudi Arabia
  16. South Africa
  17. Turkey
  18. United Kingdom
  19. United States
  20. European Union

G20 guest countries

  • Mauritania
  • Burma
  • New Zealand
  • Senegal
  • Singapore
  • Spain

International organisations

  • Financial Stability Board
  • International Labour Organisation
  • International Monetary Fund
  • Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
  • United Nations
  • World Bank
  • World Trade Organization

G20 Taskforce

The G20 Taskforce was set up in the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet to coordinate the whole-of-government policy agenda, manage G20 host year operations and coordinate security for the G20 meetings in 2014.

Related links

For general enquiries or for more information about the G20 Leaders' Summit, visit 

08 January 2016