Habitat Brisbane | Brisbane City Council

Habitat Brisbane

""The Habitat Brisbane program helps community groups restore natural habitats in parks, remnant bushland, wetlands and along waterways as part of Brisbane City Council's Community Conservation Partnerships Program.

Habitat Brisbane groups also help to protect, monitor and increase native flora and fauna populations, especially rare and threatened species. The groups' tasks include:

  • removing weeds and rubbish
  • establishing native plants
  • reporting new sightings of wildlife including squirrel gliders, koalas, wallabies, microbats and boobook owls
  • reducing illegal dumping through community awareness and education
  • improving the attractiveness of natural areas for visitors
  • drawing people together to create an increased sense of community.

Join a Habitat Brisbane group

To join a Habitat Brisbane group and make a real difference in your local environment, phone Council on 07 3403 8888.

A manual has been developed for new volunteer groups. This manual provides a range of information to help groups follow best-practice methods and create a successful project. If you would like a copy of the manual, contact Council.


Council supports community environment groups in a variety of ways. Environment and sustainability grants are available as well as Community Conservation Assistance, which is eligible to groups and individuals that are part of Council's Community Conservation Partnerships Program. For more information phone Council on 07 3403 8888.

Habitat Brisbane groups

If you can't find a group near you using the suburb list below, or you would like more information or would like to help coordinate a volunteer group, phone Council on 07 3403 8888.

Annerley Anstead Ashgrove
Bald Hills  Bardon Boondall
Brighton Brookfield Bulimba
Calamvale Cannon Hill Carina
Carina Heights Carindale Carseldine
Chapel Hill Chelmer Coorparoo
East Brisbane Eight Mile Plains Ferny Grove
Graceville Grange Greenslopes
Hemmant Highgate Hill Holland Park West
Inala Indooroopilly Jindalee
Kedron Kenmore Kenmore Hills
Keperra Lota  
Mackenzie Manly Mansfield
McDowall Mitchelton Middle Park
Moorooka Moreton Island Mt Gravatt
Mount Gravatt East    
Norman Park Nundah Oxley
Pullenvale Riverhills Runcorn
Salisbury Sandgate Seven Hills
Sherwood St Lucia Stones Corner
Taringa Teneriffe The Gap
Tingalpa Toowong  
Upper Brookfield Upper Mt Gravatt Wakerley
Westlake Windsor Wishart
Wooloowin Wynnum Yeronga


14 March 2019