Priority Development Areas | Brisbane City Council

Priority Development Areas

Priority Development Areas

All enquiries regarding development in the priority development areas in Brisbane (Bowen Hills, Northshore Hamilton, Fitzgibbon, Woolloongabba, Herston Quarter and Queens Wharf) are to be directed to the Department of State Development, Manufacturing, Infrastructure and Planning by phone on 1300 130 215 or email to

There are six declared Priority Development Areas (PDA), formerly known as Urban Development Areas (UDA) in Brisbane:

Bowen Hills

East of the Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital, south of the inner city bypass and Enoggera Creek and north of Brunswick Street. Landmark places within the Priority Development Area include the RNA Showgrounds, the Old Museum, Perry Park and the Bowen Hills Railway Station.

Northshore Hamilton

Includes land between Kingsford Smith Drive and the Brisbane River, extending from Brett's Wharf to the west and the Gateway Motorway to the east.


Includes land bounded by the Aspley School district to the south, Telegraph Road to the north, Gympie Road to the west and the Gateway Motorway to the east.


The area is bounded by Vulture Street to the north, Stanley Street to the south, Allen Street to the west and Main Street to the east.

Herston Quarter

The area is bounded by Herston Road to the south, Bramston Terrace to the west and the Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital (RBWH) to the east and north.

Queens Wharf

Includes land located between the Brisbane River and George Street and between Alice and Queen Streets, with a riverfront connection to the Goodwill Bridge.

16 May 2018