Categories and prizes for the Lord Mayor's Photographic Awards

There are six categories in this year's Lord Mayor's Photographic Awards, including the People's Choice Award.

You can enter one or more of the following five categories for the 2021 competition:

  • Open category - open to all ages.
  • Student category - you must be currently studying at a registered educational institution within Brisbane LGA.
  • Social Media category - upload your image to Instagram using the hashtag #LMPA2021.
  • Green Heart category - share what you love about our natural environment.
  • LaVonne Bobongie Award - you must identify as Aboriginal and/ or Torres Strait Islander.

LaVonne Bobongie Award

This year we have introduced the LaVonne Bobongie Award in recognition of LaVonne’s contribution to  Brisbane as an artist and advocate of First Nations Country, community, and identity.

LaVonne was actively involved in her community, as a photographer, artist and mentor to young people. 

LaVonne has worked with Brisbane City Council for the past seven years, as a Producer, Photographer and Master of Ceremonies for Council’s Gathering program at Queen Street Mall, and in 2020, LaVonne was on the judging panel for the Lord Mayor’s Photographic Awards.


All category entrants will be considered for inclusion in the People's Choice Award.

There are eight cash prizes to be won:

  • Open category - $5000.
  • Open category first runner-up - $2000.
  • Open category second runner-up - $1000.
  • Green Heart category - $1500.
  • Student category - $1500.
  • Social Media category - $1500
  • LaVonne Bobongie Award - $1500
  • People's Choice Award - $1500.

People's Choice Award 

The Lord Mayor will select a shortlist of finalists to be eligible for the People's Choice Award. The prize for the People's Choice Award is decided by a public vote. 

Voting for the People’s Choice Award will open on Monday 6 September 2021. 

Voting for the People’s Choice Award will close at 4pm Monday 4 October 2021.

Last updated: 23 July 2021