CityCat, SpeedyCat and ferry services

Brisbane City Council operates a fleet of 22 CityCats, five KittyCats (including City Hoppers) and nine monohull ferries, of which one is currently in service. A network of 23 terminals stretches from The University of Queensland at St Lucia (UQ St Lucia) to Northshore Hamilton.

Council has delivered three of nine NextGen double-decker CityCats:

  • Yoogera, commenced service in November 2019
  • Neville Bonner, commenced service in August 2020
  • Mianjin II, commenced service in April 2021.

This is all part of our plan to deliver a modern public transport network with a further six NextGen double-decker CityCats joining the fleet before June 2025.

As part of our commitment to deliver a world-class public transport network, Council introduced SpeedyCats in September 2018. SpeedyCats provide more than 100 peak hour express services each week.

Increased COVID-19 restrictions from 1am Tuesday 29 June 2021

Increased restrictions are in place for South East Queensland from 1am Tuesday 29 June. Find out more.

Lockdown period

Public transport (including Council Cabs and Personalised Public Transport) will continue to operate as scheduled during the lockdown period from 4pm on Saturday 31 July to 4pm on Sunday 8 August 2021 to support customers to access essential services. 

Passengers and drivers must wear masks during the lockdown period.

Find what you need

Last updated: 2 August 2021