The Gap Ward

The Gap Ward comprises the suburbs of Ashgrove, Enoggera Reservoir, Ferny Grove, Keperra, The Gap, Upper Kedron.

Councillor Steven Toomey

Steve Toomey was first elected to Council in 2016. He was re-elected in 2020 as Councillor for The Gap Ward.

Before joining Council he worked for a global electrical company as an estimator in their building technologies team. Steve has a trade qualification and also qualifications in project management and business. 

Since becoming Councillor, he has delivered improvements to local parks, roads, footpaths and major infrastructure in the ward. He is President of Men of The Trees and a member of the local environmental group SOWN. This has enabled him to engage with these groups on matters affecting our creeks and greenspace that are a prominent feature in The Gap Ward.

He lives in the ward with his wife and children who have both attended local schools. His strong sense of community reflects his commitment to work to improve the facilities in the ward for business and families whilst protecting the local environment.

Steve is currently Deputy Chair of the Infrastructure Committee and a member of both the Environment, Parks and Sustainability Committee and the City Standards Committee.

Contact Ward Office

The Gap Ward Office
477 Waterworks Road
Ashgrove Qld 4060

Office hours: 8.30am-5pm, Monday-Friday
Phone: 07 3407 1900
Fax: 07 3407 1905
Last updated:

Brisbane City Council acknowledges this Country and its Traditional Custodians. We pay our respects to the Elders, those who have passed into the dreaming; those here today; those of tomorrow.