Citizenship information

Becoming an Australian citizen is one of the most important decisions you can make. Local governments have an important role to play in ensuring that citizenship ceremonies are a meaningful experience for people who have chosen to make Australia their home.

Applying for citizenship

Enquiries regarding Australian citizenship, applications and approval should be directed to the Department of Home Affairs. The department is open 8.30am to 4.30pm Monday to Friday and can be contacted directly on 131 880.

Attending a ceremony

Brisbane City Council conducts citizenship ceremonies throughout the year. The Department of Home Affairs allocate new citizens to a ceremony and then invitations are distributed by Brisbane City Council, via mail and email.

Upcoming ceremonies

A citizenship ceremony will be held on:

  • Wednesday 26 January 2022
  • Monday 28 February 2022
  • Monday 9 May 2022
  • Monday 30 May 2022
  • Thursday 14 July 2022
  • Thursday 28 July 2022
  • Monday 15 August 2022
  • Tuesday 16 August 2022
  • Wednesday 17 August 2022
  • Wednesday 31 August 2022
  • Wednesday 14 September 2022
  • Monday 24 October 2022
  • Monday 7 November 2022.

Between 600-1200 candidates attend each citizenship ceremony. Upon arrival at the ceremony, guests will be directed to separate seating from those receiving citizenship. 

More information

For more information on citizenship ceremonies, visit the Department of Home Affairs website.

Last updated: 20 June 2022

Brisbane City Council acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the land and their unique relationship with their ancestral country. We pay respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elders of Brisbane, and recognise their strength and wisdom.