Botanic gardens in Brisbane

Use this page to find out about Brisbane City Council's three botanic gardens - public spaces primarily dedicated to the collection, cultivation, preservation and display of living plants.

Our three botanic gardens

Brisbane Botanic Gardens Mt Coot-tha

The 56-hectare Brisbane Botanic Gardens Mt Coot-tha are Queensland's premier subtropical botanic gardens, located seven kilometres from the Brisbane Central Brisbane District. 

City Botanic Gardens

The 17-hectare, heritage-listed City Botanic Gardens are Brisbane's original botanic gardens. They are located on Alice Street, Brisbane City and are bounded by the Brisbane River.

Sherwood Arboretum

The 15-hectare, heritage-listed Sherwood Arboretum contains approximately 1100 trees, representing 250 species. The main attraction is a grand avenue of 72 kauri pines.

Location map and text view

Last updated: 1 June 2020

Brisbane City Council acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the land and their unique relationship with their ancestral country. We pay respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elders of Brisbane, and recognise their strength and wisdom.