Saunter through Spring Hill Heritage Trail
The Saunter through Spring Hill Heritage Trail winds along the inner-city suburb's narrow streets, with its rows of modest 19th Century cottages. The trail provides a snapshot of the area's rich history, sites and events, such as:
- early European settlement
- the Spring Hill Baths
- World War II
- the Plague.
- Brisbane Heritage Trails - Saunter through Spring Hill brochure (PDF - 2.7Mb)
- Brisbane Heritage Trails - Saunter through Spring Hill brochure (Word - 1.8Mb)
You can also download the following brochures for the Old Windmill Tower and Spring Hill Service Reservoirs in your preferred format:
- Brisbane Heritage Sites - Spring Hill Service Reservoirs brochure (PDF - 2.2Mb)
- Brisbane Heritage Sites - Spring Hill Service Reservoirs brochure (Word - 1.5Mb)
- Brisbane Heritage Sites - Old Windmill Tower brochure (PDF - 1.7Mb)
- Brisbane Heritage Sites - Old Windmill Tower brochure (Word - 430kb)
Saunter through Spring Hill Heritage Trail map and table
There are 21 points of interest along the 3.2 kilometre Saunter through Spring Hill Heritage Trail. It begins at the Lady Bowen Hospital on Wickham Terrace, then proceeds down to Boundary Street and along picturesque Fortescue Street. It winds down the hill to Water Street and up to Rogers Street. After passing the impressive Villa Maria Hostel, the trail travels into historic Gloucester Street and ends at the Alliance Hotel on the corner of Leichhardt and Boundary Streets.
For more information about each point of interest, download the Saunter Through Spring Hill Heritage Trail brochure in your preferred format. The brochure map includes additional information such as the location of public transport, public toilets and access for people with limited mobility (by way of gradient ranges). Some sections of this trail are steep and may not be accessible for people with limited mobility.
Use the Google map and information boxes to navigate the heritage trail. Alternatively, use the heritage trail table below, which includes the point of interest number, name, address and description. The start point of the trail (on the map) is marked with a 'person' icon.
|Lady Bowen Hospital
|497 Wickham Terrace
|Built in 1889 to help expectant mothers.
|Original town boundary.
|Spring Hill Baths
|16 Torrington Street
|These baths are the last remaining covered baths in Australia.
|The Lady in Blue
|122 Fortescue Street
|This is the former site of the Presbyterian Mission Hall where Deaconess May Walker helped Spring Hill's poor.
|130-146 Fortescue Street
|This row of 1880s cottages was built as rental investments and called 'Park Terrace'.
|454 Gregory Terrace
|This historic park was first gazetted in 1875.
|Gregory Terrace Officers' Camp
|454 Gregory Terrace
|During World War II this was the site of the Gregory Terrace Officers' Camp.
|Mrs Long's cottage
|116 Issac Street
|This is one of Brisbane's tiniest houses.
|The valley where Water Street now runs was originally called Spring Hollow.
|Spring Hill Quarry
|33 Quarry Street
|This quarry supplied stone for much of Spring Hill's late 19th Century street improvements.
|A kingdom of happiness
|8 Love Street
|This park was established in the 1930s for disadvantaged children.
|Rogers and Victoria Streets
|134 St Pauls Terrace
|These are two of Spring Hill's most picturesque streets.
|St Pauls Terrace
|The first case of bubonic plague struck Spring Hill in May 1900.
|Villa Maria Hostel
|171 St Pauls Terrace
|This beautiful building was built in the 1920s for the Sisters of Perpetual Adoration.
|Thornbury Street cottages
|1-15 Thornbury Street
|These 1870s cottages are a rare example of this style of housing in Brisbane.
|43 Phillips Street
|This set of architecturally designed flats was built in 1936.
|Gloucester Street has several important examples of 19th Century duplexes.
|Spring Hill's larrikins
|St Pauls Terrace
|The 'larrikin' emerged in Brisbane in late 19th Century and groups of them caused havoc in Spring Hill.
|Former site of the Hospital for Sick Children
|43 St Pauls Terrace
|This was the former site of Brisbane's first children's hospital.
|289 Boundary Street
|The Spring Hill Picture Palace previously stood on the corner of Leichhardt and Boundary Streets.
|320 Boundary Street
|There has been a hotel on this site from as early as 1864.