Breakfast Creek to Bretts Wharf Heritage Trail
The Roam the river from creek to wharf (Breakfast Creek to Bretts Wharf) Heritage Trail takes you on a journey from Breakfast Creek, along the Lores Bonney Riverwalk to Bretts Wharf, discovering a range of events and people that have shaped Hamilton's history, including:
- Aboriginal history
- the history and transformation of Kingsford Smith Drive
- the suburbs' iconic architecture and infrastructure.
Heritage trail map and table
There are 14 points of interest along the heritage trail. The two-kilometre trail starts at Breakfast Creek and meanders through the Cameron Rocks Reserve and along the Lores Bonney Riverwalk adjacent to Kingsford Smith Drive. The trail ends at the Bretts Wharf plaza, Hamilton with an option to continue along Kingsford Smith Drive to Remora Road to view the 1927 reclaimed river rock wall at the Hercules Street Park.
For more information about each place of interest, download the heritage trail brochure in your preferred format. The brochure map shows nearby public transport, public toilets and hill and land gradients for people with limited mobility. This trail is an easy walk along flat terrain.
Download the brochure:
- Roam the river from creek to wharf (Breakfast Creek to Bretts Wharf) Heritage Trail brochure (PDF - 3.9Mb)
- Roam the river from creek to wharf (Breakfast Creek to Bretts Wharf) Heritage Trail brochure (Word - 199kb).
You might also like to explore the nearby Albion Heritage Trail and the Ascot and Hamilton Heritage Trail.
Use the Google Map and signage at each heritage site to follow the heritage trail. Alternatively, use the heritage trail table below, which includes the places of interest number, name, location and description.
View a larger version of this map.
|Point of interest||Name||Location||Description|
|1||Hamilton Hydro Service Station||Breakfast Creek, near the western entrance to Cameron Rocks Reserve||A unique service station that served fuel to both motor vehicles and marine vessels.|
|2||Cameron Rocks War Memorial||Cameron Rocks Reserve||Opened in 1931, a war memorial to honour soldiers who fought in World War I.|
|3||Building Kingsford Smith Drive||Cameron Rocks Reserve, opposite Day Street||A timeline of the history and transformation of Kingsford Smith Drive.|
|4||Local Aboriginal history||Cameron Rocks Reserve, near the fishing platform||Breakfast Creek was a popular corroboree spot for the Turrbal People.|
|5||Iconic architecture||Lores Bonney Riverwalk, east of Toorak Road (first rest node)||Fine examples of some of Brisbane's 19th century architecture.|
|6||River views||Lores Bonney Riverwalk, west of Crescent Road (second rest node)||
From this vantage point, views of some of Brisbane's iconic landmarks can be seen.
|7||Heritage tram shelter||Lores Bonney Riverwalk, between Crescent Road and Grays Road||Located near Crescent Road, this heritage tram shelter was built between 1923 and 1928.|
|8||Origin of the road name||Lores Bonney Riverwalk (third rest node)||Kingsford Smith Drive was constructed in 1829 and is now one of Brisbane's busiest roads.|
|9||John Frederick Bailey and the subtropical boulevard||Lores Bonney Riverwalk, opposite Quarry Street||Kingsford Smith Drive was once named Bailey Memorial Avenue after Botanist John Frederick Bailey.|
|10||Bretts Wharf||Bretts Wharf plaza (rest node), Kingsford Smith Drive||Built in 1928, Bretts Wharf handled general cargo and timber for export. During World War II, the wharf was used by the United States Navy and Air Force.|
|11||Mrs MacFarlane's Refreshment Kiosk||Bretts Wharf plaza, Kingsford Smith Drive||This popular kiosk was a popular recreational hub and many business meetings were held here.|
|12||Maude 'Lores' Bonney||Bretts Wharf plaza, Kingsford Smith Drive||Maude 'Lores' Bonney was Australia's 'Lady of the Sky', was the first woman to circumnavigate Australia by air.|
|13||Eagle Farm Women's Prison||Hamilton Park, Kingsford Smith Drive||Located at the Australia Tradecoast site, the prison was established in 1829.|
|14||Reclaimed river rock wall||Hercules Street Park, corner of Kingsford Smith Drive and Remora Drive||Quarried in the 1820s at the Kangaroo Point Cliffs, this rock was used to build a retaining all along the river.|