Brisbane Central Traffic Area

In the Brisbane Central Traffic Area, you can park for a maximum of two hours on unsigned streets, unless there are parking meters or signs showing otherwise.

Brisbane Central Traffic Area suburbs

The Brisbane Central Traffic Area regulated parking area covers the Brisbane Central Business District and nearby suburbs and localities. The full suburb and parts of suburbs lists below show the suburbs in the regulated area (whether in full, or in part). Select the headings to display the lists.

Full suburbs

Parts of suburbs

  • parts of Bowen Hills
  • parts of Herston
  • parts of Highgate Hill 
  • parts of Kangaroo Point
  • parts of Kelvin Grove
  • parts of New Farm
  • parts of Teneriffe
  • parts of West End
  • parts of Woolloongabba

The two hour limit applies to all on-street parking spaces within the Brisbane Central Traffic Area between 7am-6pm, Monday to Friday, and 7am to midday on Saturday unless signed otherwise.

To help motorists easily identify when they have parked within the Brisbane Central Traffic Area, Brisbane City Council has installed high visibility traffic area information signs. These signs are located underneath street signs and complement larger boundary signage, located on roads leading into the area.

If you live outside the suburb of Brisbane City in the Brisbane Central Traffic Area, you can apply for a parking permit

Brisbane Central Traffic Area map

The map shows the extent of the Brisbane Central Traffic Area.

View a larger version of the Brisbane Central Traffic Area map.

Brisbane City Council acknowledges this Country and its Traditional Custodians. We pay our respects to the Elders, those who have passed into the dreaming; those here today; those of tomorrow.