CityCat, SpeedyCat and ferry services

Brisbane City Council operates a fleet of 22 CityCats, five KittyCats (including City Hoppers) and nine monohull ferries, of which one is currently in service. A network of 23 terminals stretches from The University of Queensland at St Lucia (UQ St Lucia) to Northshore Hamilton.

Council has delivered two of nine NextGen double-decker CityCats:

  • Yoogera, commenced service in November 2019
  • Neville Bonner, commenced service in August 2020

This is all part of our plan to deliver a modern public transport network with a further seven NextGen double-decker CityCats joining the fleet before June 2025.

As part of our commitment to deliver a world-class public transport network, Council introduced SpeedyCats in September 2018. SpeedyCats provide more than 100 peak hour express services each week.

RiverCity Ferries, the operator of Brisbane ferry services, will maintain additional coronavirus social distancing measures throughout the State Government’s phased approach to relaxing restrictions.

From Wednesday 25 March temporary changes to bus and ferry services took effect, with only pre-paid go cards to be accepted on all services.  The precautions are being implemented to further protect public transport users and passengers from the spread of coronavirus.

Find out more.

Find what you need

Last updated: 2 December 2020