Community and the Arts Committee

Committee membership

ChairCouncillor Vicki Howard
Deputy ChairCouncillor Lisa Atwood
Shadow ChairCouncillor Charles Strunk
MembersCouncillor Seal Chong Wah
Councillor Alex Givney
Councillor Penny Wolff


The responsibilities of the Community and the Arts Committee will be to:

  • develop vibrant and caring local Brisbane communities
  • ensure a focus on the customer in the design and delivery of Council services
  • ensure contact with Council is made as easy as possible
  • promote and provide opportunities for Brisbane residents to have an active and healthy lifestyle
  • provide libraries, pools, community halls and meeting spaces for Brisbane residents
  • provide exciting, vibrant cultural and artistic activities for Brisbane residents
  • partner with community and business organisations to sponsor and deliver family and community services
  • provide high quality community venues and recreation facilities
  • manage Council’s relationships with community groups that operate from Council-owned facilities and provide support to improve and maintain facilities
  • work with sporting organisations to support community-based sport and recreation activities
  • deliver on the outcomes in Brisbane's Sustainable Growth Strategy as it relates to homelessness and community housing providers
  • deliver strategies and programs that acknowledge and value the unique contributions that Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people make to our city.
Last updated:

Brisbane City Council acknowledges this Country and its Traditional Custodians. We pay our respects to the Elders, those who have passed into the dreaming; those here today; those of tomorrow.