Environment, Parks and Sustainability Committee

Committee membership

Summary table of the Environment, Parks and Sustainability Committee Chairman, Deputy Chairman and Members.
Chair Councillor Tracy Davis
Deputy Chair Councillor James Mackay
Shadow Chair Councillor Steve Griffiths

Councillor Julia Dixon
Councillor Sandy Landers
Councillor Charles Strunk

The responsibilities of the Environment, Parks and Sustainability Committee are to:

  • protect and enhance Brisbane’s environment including the Brisbane River, waterways, biodiversity, air quality and natural areas
  • create new and improve existing parks across the city
  • ensure Brisbane is a leading city in energy efficiency and sustainability
  • encourage the protection of Brisbane’s native wildlife such as the koala
  • foster Brisbane’s development as a green and shady city with a focus on its parks, gardens and natural areas
  • partner with the community and businesses to enhance the environment
  • support volunteer organisations in their contribution to the protection and enhancement of Brisbane’s environment
  • enhance waterway health and access as well as managing drainage and flood resilience
  • ensure environmental risks are minimised
  • manage the city’s comprehensive parks and open space network including bushland reserves.
Last updated: 10 August 2023

Brisbane City Council acknowledges this Country and its Traditional Custodians. We pay our respects to the Elders, those who have passed into the dreaming; those here today; those of tomorrow.