Lord Mayor's Young Environmental Leadership Network

The Lord Mayor's Young Environmental Leadership Network (LMYELN), previously known as the Student Environmental Leadership Network (SELN), proudly supports students and schools by empowering young leaders to create real change in their school community.

About the program

Brisbane City Council's LMYELN program is a unique learning and leadership program that directly engages and supports schools to be cleaner and greener.

Through a project-based, active learning model, students are empowered to create positive environmental change in their school and community. Student representatives attend five Council-facilitated meetings throughout the year that equip them with lifelong skills in project management, communication, and leadership.

LMYELN 2021 schools

This year, Council is pleased to be partnering with the following schools to create a cleaner and greener Brisbane.

  • All Hallows' School
  • Ambrose Treacy College
  • Aspley State High School
  • Balmoral State High School
  • Brigidine College
  • Brisbane Boys' College
  • Brisbane Girls Grammar School
  • Brisbane Grammar School
  • Carinity Education - Southside 
  • Citipointe Christian College
  • Clayfield College
  • Craigslea State High School
  • Ferny Grove State High School
  • Hillbrook Anglican School
  • Iona College
  • Islamic College of Brisbane
  • Loreto College 
  • Lourdes Hill College
  • Mansfield State High School
  • Marist College Ashgrove
  • Mary MacKillop College
  • Mount Alvernia College
  • Mount Gravatt State High School
  • Mt St Michael's College
  • Rochedale State High School
  • Sandgate District State High School
  • St John Fisher College
  • St Margaret's Anglican Girls School
  • St Rita's College
  • Stuartholme School
  • The Gap State High School
  • Wavell State High School
  • Whites Hill State College
  • Wynnum State High School
  • Yeronga State High School

SELN 2020 achievements

In 2020, Brisbane's SELN cohort:

  • designed, project managed and implemented over forty environmental projects
  • greened their schools through seven biodiversity projects
  • engaged their student colleagues through art as a medium for inspiring change
  • cared for local wildlife by providing nests, hives, and planting food sources
  • reduced waste to landfill by introducing or improving their schools' recycling practices
  • diverted plastics from landfill to the Containers for Change program
  • created more sustainable travel options for their school by building a bike rack from recycled materials
  • improved our creek and waterway health by reducing litter and addressing erosion issues
  • lowered food miles for their canteens with on-site food gardens
  • created closed-loop food systems by introducing organics collection
  • reduced their schools' energy and water consumption and carbon emissions
  • inspired the next generation of environmental leaders and support their schools' environment groups.

LMYELN 2021 photo gallery

View the LMYELN 2021 program images in the following slideshow. Alternatively, you can view the images in Council’s Flickr account.

Lord Mayor's Young Environmental Leadership Network 2021

More information

To find out more about the SELN program, email the Green Heart Schools team.

Last updated: 9 March 2021