North East Wetlands

The North East Wetlands are located in the city's north-eastern suburbs and are an amalgamation of seven areas of parkland totalling 170 hectares. These areas include:

  • Sandgate Third Lagoon Reserve
  • Deagon Wetlands Reserve including Fourth Lagoon
  • Dowse Lagoon Reserve
  • Einbunpin Lagoon Reserve
  • Brighton Wetlands (north, west and east)

Dowse, Einbunpin and Sandgate Third and Fourth Lagoons are categorised as permanent freshwater lagoons. Naturally formed lagoons of this size are rare in Brisbane. Sandgate Third Lagoon has been described as one of the most extensive reed beds within the city.

Special features

Visitor facilities include picnic areas, walking circuits, bikeways, barbecue facilities and play equipment. A bird hide at Sandgate Third Lagoon can be located by following the walking track from Bracken Ridge Road. Dowse lagoon has a number of viewing decks around the lagoon.

Last updated:

Brisbane City Council acknowledges this Country and its Traditional Custodians. We pay our respects to the Elders, those who have passed into the dreaming; those here today; those of tomorrow.