City Standards Committee

Committee membership

Summary table of the Field Services Committee Chairman, Deputy Chairman and Members,
Chair Councillor Kim Marx
Deputy Chair Councillor Steven Toomey
Shadow Chair Councillor Peter Cumming

Councillor Greg Adermann

Councillor Sarah Hutton

Councillor Nicole Johnston

The responsibilities of the City Standards Committee are to work across Committee portfolios to:

  • ensure citywide removal of graffiti
  • maintain parks and greenspaces including grass cutting, trees on Council land, street and park furniture, park signs, and playgrounds
  • manage road and footpath maintenance including signs, lines, pothole repairs and weed control
  • manage urban cleansing activities including city malls cleansing, litter control, street sweeping, and gum removal
  • ensure the conduct of mosquito, vegetation and pest control
  • ensure that Brisbane is a leading city in waste management and resource recovery
  • ensure coordination with the State Emergency Services during localised incident and disaster response activities
  • ensure a firm but fair approach to compliance and regulation to maintain city amenity standards
  • minimise environmental health risks and safety hazards
  • ensure compliance with local laws and regulations.

Email Councillor Kim Marx, Civic Cabinet Chair, at

Last updated: 4 August 2022

Brisbane City Council acknowledges this Country and its Traditional Custodians. We pay our respects to the Elders, those who have passed into the dreaming; those here today; those of tomorrow.