Active School Travel schools and results

The Active School Travel (AST) program offers Brisbane primary schools a suite of free resources, tools and incentives. The program encourages students, parents, carers and teachers to leave the car at home and actively travel to school. Since 2004, 177 schools and more than 147,000 students have participated in the Active School Travel (AST) program.

The AST program was still able to deliver the following achievements in 2023:

  • Schools in their first year of the AST program increased their active travel rate by an average of 17%.
  • 481 kids attended bike skills sessions and 277 attended scooter skills sessions
  • 84% of parents felt their child’s road safety knowledge improved since being in the AST program.
  • Walking was the most popular way for active travellers to get to school with a 15% increase in 2023.

2023 award winners

Each year, AST recognises the fantastic outcomes and changes our schools make through the program. The award-winning schools for 2023 made significant improvements to active travel in their communities.

  • School of the Year 2023 – Kenmore South State School
  • School of Excellence 2023 – Wishart State School
  • Walk of Fame – Lota State School
  • Greatest increase of active travel in large schools – Kenmore South State School
  • Highest percentage of active travel in large schools - Kenmore South State School and Wellers Hill State School
  • Greatest increase of active travel in small schools – Our Lady of Dolours at Mitchelton
  • Highest percentage of active travel in small schools – Brisbane Central State School

Current AST schools

Brisbane City Council is currently working with the following AST schools over a three-year period.

Commenced 2024

  • Darra State School
  • Grand Avenue State School, Forest Lake
  • Northgate State School, Nundah
  • Rainworth State School, Bardon
  • Sherwood State School
  • Shorncliffe State School
  • St Aidan’s Anglican Girls School, Corinda
  • St John’s Anglican College, Forest Lake
  • St Kevin’s Catholic Primary School, Geebung

Commenced 2023

  • Inala State School
  • Kenmore South State School
  • Murarrie State School
  • Salisbury State School
  • St Columba’s School, Wilston
  • St Joseph’s School, Nundah
  • St William’s School, Grovely
  • Sunnybank Hills State School
  • Upper Mt Gravatt State School
  • Wellers Hill State School, Tarragindi

Commenced 2022

  • Aspley East State School
  • Aspley State School
  • Brisbane Central State School
  • Craigslea State School, Chermside West
  • Greenslopes State School
  • Manly State School
  • Milton State School
  • Morningside State School

More information

For more information about the AST program:

Last updated:

Brisbane City Council acknowledges this Country and its Traditional Custodians. We pay our respects to the Elders, those who have passed into the dreaming; those here today; those of tomorrow.