Safe roads around schools

Brisbane City Council, in conjunction with the Department of Transport and Main Roads, supports a number of initiatives to provide infrastructure to protect our children and school communities and encourage safety on the roads around our schools. Learn about Council’s Enhanced School Zone Signage program, the Safe School Travel (SafeST) program and funding opportunities, and the Queensland Government’s crossing supervisor scheme.

Enhanced School Zone Signage program

Council’s Enhanced School Zone Signage program aims to improve road safety around schools located on multi-lane roads.

The Enhance School Zone Signage program received continued funding in Council's budget with five schools included in the 2017-18 financial year:

  • Coorparoo State School - Old Cleveland Road, Coorparoo
  • Mary Immaculate Catholic Primary Schools - Ipswich Road, Annerley
  • Mitchelton Special School - Kedron Avenue, Mitchelton
  • Mt Maria College - Prospect Road, Mitchelton
  • Runcorn State School - Beenleigh Road, Sunnybank.

School zones on multi-lane roads consist of two treatments:

  • enhanced or flashing school zone signage
  • pavement thresholds (red painted boxes with 'school zone' in white text).

The treatments aim to improve safety for children travelling to and from school and are specifically designed to raise awareness of reduced speed limits in school zones at peak school times.

Between 1 July 2015 and 30 June 2017, Council completed the construction of school zones on multi-lane roads at 37 Brisbane schools. These schools included:

  • Ashgrove State School - Glory Street, Ashgrove
  • ​Brisbane Boys College - Kensington Terrace, Toowong
  • Brisbane Girls Grammar School - Gregory Terrace, Spring Hill
  • Brisbane Grammar School - Gregory Terrace, Brisbane City
  • Camp Hill State Infants and Primary School - Old Cleveland Road, Camp Hill
  • Clairvaux Mackillop College - Klumpp Road, Upper Mt Gravatt
  • Coorparoo State School - Old Cleveland Road, Coorparoo
  • Craigslea State High School - Maundrell Terrace, Chermside West
  • Durack State School - Inala Avenue, Durack
  • Dutton Park State School - Annerley Road, Dutton Park
  • East Brisbane State School - Wellington Road, East Brisbane
  • Forest Lake State High School - Forest Lake Boulevard, Forest Lake
  • Inala State School - Rosemary Street, Inala
  • Indooroopilly State School - Moggill Road, Indooroopilly
  • Macgregor State School - McCullough Street, Macgregor
  • Moorooka State School - Beaudesert Road, Moorooka
  • Moreton Bay College - Hargreaves Road and Kianawah Road, Manly West
  • Mount Gravatt East State School - Newnham Road, Mount Gravatt East
  • Mount Gravatt State School - Logan Road, Mount Gravatt
  • Newmarket State School - Enoggera Road, Newmarket
  • Richlands East State School - Poinsettia Street, Inala
  • Sandgate State School - Rainbow Street, Sandgate
  • Seton College - Cavendish Road, Mount Gravatt East
  • St Agnes School - Logan Road, Mount Gravatt
  • St Bernard's Catholic Primary School - Logan Road and Klumpp Road, Upper Mount Gravatt
  • St Flannan's Catholic Primary School - Beams Road and Handford Road, Zillmere
  • St James College - Boundary Street and Turbot Street, Spring Hill
  • St Johns Anglican College Junior Campus - Forest Lake Boulevard, Forest Lake
  • St Johns Anglican College Senior - Forest Lake Boulevard, Forest Lake
  • St Mary of the Cross - Roblane Street, Windsor
  • Stafford State School - Webster Road, Stafford
  • Tingalpa State School - Wynnum Road, Tingalpa
  • Upper Mount Gravatt State School - Logan Road, Upper Mount Gravatt
  • Western Suburbs State Special School - Rosemary Street, Inala
  • Windsor State School - Lutwyche Road, Windsor
  • Wynnum West State School - Wynnum Road, Wynnum West
  • Zillmere State School - Murphy Road, Zillmere.

Schools wishing to obtain additional information about Council’s Enhanced School Zone Signage program should phone Council on 07 3403 8888.

Safe School Travel program

The Safe School Travel program (SafeST) provides transport-related infrastructure to improve the safety of students travelling to and from school, and is funded on a 50/50 basis with the State Government (Department of Transport and Main Roads).

Funding is available for pedestrian and bicycle facilities (intersection improvements, refuge crossings, children’s crossings), and for bus and car facilities (bus zones and two-minute passenger loading zones).

How to apply for SafeST funding

School communities should contact their relevant State Government Road Safety Advisor to determine if a submission to the SafeST Subsidy Scheme is appropriate.

School Crossing Supervisor Scheme

The Department of Transport and Main Roads School Crossing Supervisor Scheme aims to help children cross roads safely on their way to and from school.

Applications for a supervised crossing should be made by the school principal to the Department of Transport and Main Roads via:

16 January 2018