Doboy Ward | Brisbane City Council

Doboy Ward

The Doboy Ward comprises the suburbs of Carina, Hemmant, Murarrie, Tingalpa and large parts of Wakerley, Belmont, Cannon Hill and Manly West.

Councillor Ryan Murphy

Ryan Murphy is a lifelong resident of Brisbane's eastern suburbs, and as Councillor for Doboy Ward, is committed to delivering for his constituents.

Growing up, Ryan attended Carina State School and then Iona College at Lindum. After graduating, he joined the Australian Army Reserves, before going on to further study at the University of Queensland.

Ryan was first elected to Council in 2012, becoming Brisbane's youngest councillor. He was re-elected in 2016. Prior to entering Council, he was employed in the private sector as a public relations consultant to some of Queensland's largest infrastructure and resource projects.

Ryan has lived in Brisbane's eastern suburbs his whole life. His priorities for the area include improving local roads and parks, strengthening local community organisations and ensuring the views of residents are heard on planning and development issues.

He is actively involved in supporting a wide variety of local community groups in the Doboy Ward and serves as Patron of the following community organisations:

  • Friends of Tingalpa Cemetery Heritage Group
  • All Gauge Model Railway Club
  • Mayfield Marlins Swimming Club
  • Balmoral Cycling Club
  • Wynnum and District Horse and Pony Club Inc.
  • Minnippi parkrun.

Ryan is an associate with the Public Relations Institute of Australia and is the founder of the Wakerley Rotary Christmas Carols Council.

Ryan is Chair of the Public and Active Transport Committee and member of Council's Establishment and Coordination (E&C) Committee.

Contact Ward Office

Doboy Ward Office
Shop 5, 1181 Wynnum Road
Cannon Hill Qld 4170

Office hours: 9am-5pm, Monday-Friday

Phone: 07 3407 8800
Fax: 07 3407 8805


16 April 2019